Blood Bowl FAQs

Here you’ll find the Blood Bowl FAQs:

#Update: 29/05/2025

Changes:

RULEBOOK

Q: Can Special actions that replace the Block action performed as part of a Blitz action be used during the Blitz Kick-off Event? (p.41)
A: Yes.

Q: What happens if a player suffers a characteristic reduction as the result of an injury, but the characteristic that would be reduced is already at its minimum value? For example, an ST 1 player that suffers a Dislocated Shoulder (-1 ST) or a player with a Passing Ability of 6+ suffers a Broken Arm (-1 PA). (p.61)
A: If a player that suffers a characteristic reduction is already at their minimum value, it cannot be reduced further. Instead, roll again on the Lasting Injury table until a different result that can be applied is rolled.

Q: What is the timing of Diving Tackle and Dodge? For example, if the dodging player passes the Agility test, then my player uses a Diving Tackle to make them fail, can they re-roll the test with Dodge? Does the negative apply to the new test? (p.75)
A: To dodge, a player moves into the intended square then makes an Agility test. If the test is passed without using the Dodge re-roll and a Marking player uses Diving Tackle, then a Dodge re-roll can be used to re-roll a now failed test. The dodging player must still subtract 2 from the result of the re-rolled Agility test.

Q: As I choose the square my player with Sidestep moves into when pushed, does this count as a voluntary move or an involuntary move for Skills such as Tentacles? (p.75)
A: Involuntary. You choose the square but are still being pushed back and so moving involuntarily.

Q: When a player dodges while being Marked by a player with Tentacles, do they move into the new square, resolve any effects (such as picking up a ball) and then resolve the Tentacles roll? (p.78)
A: The Tentacles skill is resolved first. As the player tries to move, if the Tentacles roll is a result of 6 or higher, or a natural 6, then the player hasn’t moved into the square and so cannot try to pick up the ball.

Q: When an opposition player dies and the Plague Ridden trait is used, it says the player doesn’t die and instead a new Rotter Lineman is added to your roster. Is the opposition player still removed from the opponent’s roster? (p.85)
A: Yes. For all intents and purposes, the opposition player has suffered a DEAD result on the Casualty table.

Q: If a Vampire player declares a Blitz action, fails their Bloodlust roll and changes their action to the Move action, can they then use the Hypnotic Gaze trait during the move? (p.85)
A: No. Hypnotic Gaze is a Special action that allows a player to move before they perform it. If any action – such as Blitz, Pass, Hand-off etc. – is switched for a Move action, then the player in question can only move; they cannot do anything else but that once switched. Remember – if the action is switched, it still counts as the one allowed per turn of that action if that is a restriction.

Q: When using Helmut Wulf’s Old Pro special rule, do you still need to roll for the Pro skill? (p.131)
A: Yes. Old Pro offers an alternative way to use the Pro skill, so you must still roll a D6 as described in the skill. If the Pro skill roll fails, then you may attempt to use Old Pro again in a later turn – the once per game use comes into effect only when you actually re-roll a dice as part of an Armour roll.

Q: If a Giant Mercenary Player Inducement Blocks a player with the Trickster trait, and the trait is used to place the player in one of the four squares behind the Giant, does the Block still happen as the target player is no longer Marked by the Giant? (p.54)
A: Yes. Resolve the Block against the player then, if the Giant follows up, it must change its facing to be Marking the player it made the Block action against.

SPIKE! MAGAZINE ISSUE 15 – AMAZON

Q: When using the Hit and Run trait, at what point does the player move their one free square? (p.5)
A: The movement granted by the Hit and Run trait is taken after fully resolving the Block action. The target of the Block is Pushed, follow up happens, Armour rolls are resolved and, if relevant, it is determined where the Ball lands. Then the player with Hit and Run may move a free square.
If the Block action was part of a Blitz action, the Hit and Run movement is taken before any additional squares are moved as part of the Blitz.

SPIKE! MAGAZINE ISSUE 18 – CHAOS DWARF

Q: When fouling a player with Iron Hard Skin, do you get modifiers to the roll for Foul Assists? (p.5)
A: No. The Armour roll cannot be modified and this includes any modifiers given by Foul Assists.

  • Page 5 – Breathe Fire (trait)
    • Change the third sentence to read: On a 1 or lower, the player gets overeager, engulfing themself in flame and is immediately Knocked Down.
  • Page 5 – Iron Hard Skin (Mutation)
    • Add the following sentence: This Skill may still be used if the player is Prone, Stunned or has lost their Tackle Zone.

RuleBook Page 78 – Iron Hard Skin

  • Replace the entire paragraph with the following:
    Opposing players cannot modify any Armour rolls made against this player. In addition, the Claws skill cannot be used when making an Armour roll against this player. This Skill may still be used if the player is Prone, Stunned or has lost their Tackle Zone.


#Update: 28/05/2024


#Update: 28/11/2023


#Update: 05/06/2023

Chainsaw Errata


Warhammer Community

2 thoughts on “Blood Bowl FAQs

    1. the player cant do anything until his next activation. but he doesnt lose the skills such as dodging or blocking if is the target of a block action for exemple.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *